Staircase Makeover

IMG_6054

Just before Christmas I decided to finally paint our staircase. It’s been one of those things on my mind to do but, just never got around to it. Since I already had the paint on hand, I decided to just go for it. In total, this makeover took about six hours to do.

Here is the Before:

IMG_6046

 

I used FAT paint in Chalk White and Benjamin Moore Aura in Revere Pewter. No rhyme or reason as to why I used two different brands. It all came down to 1. I had the time to tackle this project 2. I didn’t want to spend any money pulling it off 3. It’s the paint I had on hand.

I will let the photos speak for themselves in how I got the runner effect.

 

Both paint brands are super quick drying with re-coat time of an hour or less. I used a polycrylic in Satin as a protective topcoat. I did two coats.

 

One last shot of the before and after side by side. (The right photo was taken at night.)

IMG_6055

I am thrilled with how it turned out. It was super easy and quick to do but, has a huge impact. Next up will be to repaint the floors in both downstairs and upstairs hallway. I’ve been on the look out for a nice runner for the downstairs hall. I haven’t had much luck. I want something fun, whimsical with colour but also complement the farmhouse look I’m after.

So what do you think? Would you paint your staircase?

Leave a Reply

