Christmas Home Tour

It’s December and our halls are all decked out. As in previous years, I keep my Christmas decorating pretty simple. I haven’t spent money on decorations in years and prefer to make my own. I find I go by “less is more” when decorating for the holidays. I like to decorate early and tend to keep things around until after the New Year. Because I do this, I don’t like the house to appear cluttered. I just can’t relax in a cluttered room. Am I the only one like this?

Ok, enough talking, here are some photos because that’s what you all want to see anyway.

In the Kitchen we have these built ins. They aren’t deep enough to store dinner plates but I do like to have some dishes here that are in easy reach for the kids. I used my go-to colours  of red and blue.

 

I just refinished our farmhouse table. I like a simple tablescape. I love how some people really decorate their tables but this one is used several times a day since it is right in our kitchen and I do not care to clear the table every time we want to sit down and eat. I chose to decorate our table with a couple of mercury glass candlesticks, my kerosene lamp (I love the smell kerosene burning) and a burlap runner. I mix and match my Christmas dishes with our everyday white dishes.

 

From the kitchen, you enter our living room. Our home is far from big at just 1400 sq/ft. We love it. Mister describes it best when he says the house hugs us. We opted to put up the kid’s tree this year in the living room with the intention of putting up a real tree elsewhere in the house closer to Christmas. However, once this little tree was up and decorated, everyone was happy with it so this is our tree. It’s a slim 6 ft tree that I purchased last year at Loblaws for $30.

 

I love that it’s decorated with handmade ornaments and without really trying to, the colours of reds, creams and greys coordinates nicely with the rest of the room. Don’t you love it when that happens?

We are all about cozy in this house especially on our Saturday night movie nights. A wool blanket and some toss pillows and we are ready to curl up. The car with the tree pillow is by Canadian artist Lucy at Mrscraftberrybush

 

We have a faux fireplace in our office/craft room/homeschool room. The mini houses were purchased at the dollar store a few years back and I spray painted them white. The deer are from Home Sense.

 

The den is where you will find our wood stove. This was the last room to get painted. (I just finished painting it a few weeks ago). I love that I am now able to hang my Newfoundland winter/Christmas prints. The deer head is from Home Sense. On the piano, you will find my trio of trees that I made a few years ago with styrofoam, grey wool and a glue gun. The Nutcrackers I’ve had for years and the kids love them so they still make an appearance. I love the crate the Mister made for me. I filled it with pine cones from the yard and some battery operated candles. I love those. These have a timer so I don’t have to worry about remembering to turn them off.

 

 

In our Master, I have a velvet quilt that I like to put on the bed this time of year along with a ticking stripe quilt at the foot of the bed. As you can see, our cat, Tom, approves. The Joy pillow is by Girliture. I love her pillows and have a few of them.

IMG_5846

And finally, here are some vignettes you would find throughout the house and let’s not forget the hot chocolate. We drink copious amounts of it this time of year.

 

I hope you enjoyed your visit and I hope we inspired you to have a simple cozy Christmas.

I will be linking up with the Christmas Home tours at A Stroll Thru Life

And the annual Christmas Tour of Homes starting Dec 15 at The Nester

Merry Christmas!

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas Home Tour

Leave a Reply

