Deck Makeover

deck collage

Over the summer, we have been busy tackling some more decorating projects.  May and June kept us pretty busy outside as we knew we would want to take it easy and actually enjoy summer with our kids for the months of July and August.

The deck on the back of our house kept me pretty busy the month of June. It had been neglected for a number of years by the previous owners. Before I could do anything with it, I had to clean it. I used Natura Mildew off available at the Home Hardware to give the deck a good clean. Then I used Beauti-tone’s woodshed in a solid coloured stain to finish the deck.

I furnished the deck with things I already had on hand but, some things did get spiffied up with a coat of paint. The rockers needed a refresh and the coral stand that was a free roadside find got a spray of coral by Rustoleum.

The rug and side table between the rockers were Giant Tiger finds for $15 each. We also got our umbrella and stand from GT as well. I scored both for under $50.

The condiment cups came from Home Sense.

The deck of our shed kept my hubby busy as he was the one who installed the cedar shakes. This is our fire pit area. I literally bought some geraniums and two of the adirondack chairs from Home Hardware to finish of this area. I had every intention of staining this deck as well but, I was so over that idea after I finished the house deck. Perhaps next year……

Leave a Reply

