Mini Mudroom Makeover

This past summer I tackled our mudroom in anticipation for Winter. As we can be sure about death and taxes, in Canada, we can be sure of a long, cold, messy winter. My home is 129 years old so I don’t have the traditional coat closet by my entry door. However, directly of my entry area, we have this tiny little room. It measure 5 feet wide by 7 feet long. The previous owners used it as a pantry.

I knew our family of four plus one dog was going to need somewhere to store our winter coats, boots, hats, mittens and scarves and this room was going to be it. IMG_2482The first thing I did was give the room a fresh coat of paint. I painted some horizontal stripes above the bench area as a focal point. As I mentioned, it’s a teeny tiny space. People have walk in closets bigger than this room people.

Thankfully, most of the shelving and cubbies were already in place but we did have a gaping hole where the previous owners had a stand up freezer. This became the perfect spot for a built in bench with storage underneath and a few hooks. I went to the dollar store and bought some bins to hold our mittens, scarves and hats. Each member of the family now has  their own basket.

We have a basket for the household keys, a jar for loose change and even a basket for sunglasses. I placed some hooks on the wall behind the door for backpacks or to hang wet snow pants to dry.

Beneath the bench, I placed a large basket to hold swimming gear and beach towels so everything was at hand when heading to our community pool this past summer. Now that winter is here, it will hold our skates and helmets.

IMG_2462

I purchased a couple of floor mats and a boot tray to keep our wet boots out of the way. This makeover costs under $30. This small space is super functional and works hard for our family of four. It just goes to show that it doesn’t have to cost a lot of money to make a space work for you.

IMG_2466 IMG_2464

The greatest thing is I no longer hear, “Mom, where is my ……?) Music to this mama’s ears.

Leave a Reply

